Princess Goes Announce New Album, ‘Come of Age’

Princess Goes - Performing at the Lincoln Theatre in Raleigh, NC. July 30, 2022. (photo credit: Ashley Bissette Sumerel)

Following a mysterious social media campaign, Princess Goes (shortened now from Princess Goes to the Butterfly Museum) has announced a brand new album, to be released September 15th, 2023. The album is titled Come of Age, and the first single, “Shimmer” is out now.

Princess Goes is comprised of lead singer Michael C. Hall (Dexter, Six-Feet-Under, Lazarus), drummer Peter Yanowitz (The Wallflowers, Morningwood), and keyboardist Matt Katz-Bohen (Blondie). The trio met while performing together on Broadway in Hedwig and the Angry Inch.

The avant-indie rock band has an electronic sound and has described their own music as “kaleidoscopic sound weather.” However, they’ve stated they don’t like to place their work into any one particular genre.

Princess Goes - Performing at the Lincoln Theater in Raleigh, NC (photo credit: Ashley Bissette Sumerel)
Princess Goes – Michael C. Hall – Performing at the Lincoln Theatre in Raleigh, NC. July 30th, 2022. (photo credit: Ashley Bissette Sumerel)

In regard to the new single, the band stated, “If ‘Shimmer’ sounds like it was written in a fever dream it’s because it basically was. The chord progression originated from a simple bass line and floor tom beat and it evolved from there, building on its own momentum, like an argument that is heating up.”

The band said that in the song, “the lyrics slip out like a secret, like something from the subconscious, with absolutely no regard (or use) for verses or choruses, instead they seem to be mostly concerned with conveying this very human need to be heard.”

Watch the music video for “Shimmer” here:

Princess Goes also announced an NYC album release show which will take place at Elsewhere on September 20, 2023. Tickets go on sale this Friday, July 14th. Then, the band will go on tour in the EU and UK this fall.

Princess Goes released their first official single, “Ketamine,” in 2019. Building upon this initial success, the band unveiled their debut EP, “Princess Goes to the Butterfly Museum,” in 2020. The group presented their highly anticipated debut album, “Thanks for Coming,” in 2021.

Here’s a list of the tracks available on Come of Age:
  1. “Offering”
  2. “Let It Go”
  3. “Blur”
  4. “Come of Age”
  5. “Shimmer”
  6. “Jetpack”
  7. “Glasswing”
  8. “Take Me Home”
  9. “Beija”
  10. “Saving Grace”
  11. “Whatever Whispers”
  12. “Floating”

twitter Follow us on Twitter and on instagram-icon Instagram!
Like us on Facebook!

Ashley is the Editor-in-Chief of Eulalie Magazine. Favorite Movies: Sunset Boulevard, Garden State, Modern Times. Favorite TV Shows: Gilmore Girls, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Grey's Anatomy. Favorite Books: Interview with the Vampire, Dracula, City of Glass.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.