Books, Lists

5 Fantasy Novels to Read in March

To help your ever-growing TBR list, we’ll be highlighting fantasy novels coming out each month that you should put on your radar.

Our picks will be a mix of the latest installment in a beloved series, the beginning of a brand new series, or a standalone novel that you’ll want to sink your teeth into.

March’s picks feature deadly potions, a blood carver, a witch on a quest to restore magic, and more.

In order of release date, here are 5 fantasy novels we’re looking forward to reading in March:

1. The Prisoner’s Throne by Holly Black – March 5

The Prisoner's Throne Cover

Oak must choose between the girl he loves and his country in the stunning conclusion to the Stolen Heir duology. The Prisoner’s Throne releases on March 5.

Book Description: Prince Oak is paying for his betrayal. Imprisoned in the icy north and bound to the will of a monstrous new queen, he must rely on charm and calculation to survive. With High King Cardan and High Queen Jude ready to use any means necessary to retrieve their stolen heir, should Oak attempt to regain the trust of the girl he’s always loved, or remain loyal to Elfhame and hand over the means to end her reign-even if it means ending Wren, too…

With war looming and treachery lurking in every corner, neither Oak’s guile nor his wit will be enough to keep everyone he loves alive. He will have some terrible choices to make.

 

2. Sunbringer by Hannah Kaner – March 12

Sunbringer

It’s time to rejoin Kissen, Inara, and Elogast on their adventure. Sunbringer, the second book in the Fallen Gods trilogy, releases on March 12.

Book Description: Professional godkiller Kissen and her companions — young noble Inara and knight Elogast — return in a winding adventure in a world overflowing with magic, beauty, and danger.

3. The Hedgewitch of Foxhall by Anna Bright – March 12

The Hedgewitch of Foxhall

Ffion finds herself on a quest to restore magic to Foxhall, even though it means teaming up with a prince who hates her and her magic. The Hedgewitch of Foxhall by Anna Bright hits shelves on March 12.

Book Description: In this gorgeous stand-alone fantasy romance perfect for fans of Margaret Rogerson and Allison Saft, a rebellious witch undertakes a last-ditch quest to restore magic to medieval Wales — as two princes vie for her heart.

Ffion is the last hedgewitch in Foxhall. To work her magic, she takes only what nature can spare, unlike the witches of the powerful Foxhall coven, who sacrifice whole forests to fuel their spells. But across the warring kingdoms of Wales, all magic is fading. Even the dragons have vanished.

Prince Taliesin would love nothing more than to watch magic die. But when his father charges Tal and his brother, Dafydd, with destroying King Offa’s dyke — the massive earthen wall raised by their Mercian enemies to the east, which may be the cause of magic’s disappearance — he begrudgingly seeks aid from a witch.

Because whichever prince succeeds in destroying the dyke will win the throne, and Tal is willing to do whatever it takes to become king. Even if the Foxhall coven refuses to help him. Even if he’s forced to team up with a spitfire hedgewitch who hates him almost as much as he hates her magic. And even if Dafydd proves to be a worthier rival than he anticipated…for the crown, and for Ffion’s heart.

4. The Last Bloodcarver by Vanessa Le – March 19

The Last Bloodcarver

After being caught using her blood-carving skills, Nhika is sold to a wealthy family and tasked with healing a witness to a murder. As she digs further into the investigation, she’ll have to decide where her allegiances lie. The Last Bloodcarver by Vanessa Le releases on March 19.

Book Description: Nhika is a bloodcarver. A cold-hearted, ruthless being who can alter human biology with just a touch. In the industrial city of Theumas, she is seen not as a healer, but a monster that kills for pleasure.

When Nhika is caught using her bloodcarving abilities during a sham medical appointment, she’s captured by underground thugs and sold to an aristocratic family to heal the last witness of their father’s murder.

But as Nhika delves deeper into their investigation amidst the glitz of Theumas’ wealthiest district, she begins to notice parallels between this job and her own dark past. And when she meets an alluring yet entitled physician’s aide, Ven Kochin, she’s forced to question the true intent behind this murder. In a society that outcasts her, Kochin seems drawn to her…though he takes every chance he gets to push her out of his opulent world.

When Nhika discovers that Kochin is not who he claims to be, and that there is an evil dwelling in Theumas that runs much deeper than the murder of one man, she must decide where her heart, and her allegiance, truly lie. And — if she’s willing to become the dreaded bloodcarver Theumas fears to save herself and the ones she’s vowed to protect.

5.  The Poisons We Drink by Bethany Baptiste – March 26

The Poisons We Drink

After the death of her mother, Venus is offered the chance at revenge. All she has to do is brew poisonous potions that will enslave high-profile politicians. The Poisons We Drink hits shelves on March 5.

Book Description: Love potions is a dangerous business. Brewing has painful, debilitating side effects, and getting caught means death or a prison sentence. But what Venus is most afraid of is the dark, sentient magic within her.

Then an enemy’s iron bullet kills her mother, Venus’s life implodes. Keeping her reckless little sister Janus safe is now her responsibility. When the powerful Grand Witcher, the ruthless head of her coven, offers Venus the chance to punish her mother’s killer, she has to pay a steep price for revenge. The cost? Brew poisonous potions to enslave D.C.’s most influential politicians.

As Venus crawls deeper into the corrupt underbelly of her city, the line between magic and power blurs, and it’s hard to tell who to trust… Herself included.

What will you be reading in March? Share your picks in the comments below!

Follow us on Twitter and on Instagram!
Like us on Facebook!

Allison is in a love affair with books and television that doesn't seem to be letting up anytime soon. Slightly damaged fictional characters are her weakness. She loves to spend her free time curled up with a cat and a book to read or a show to watch. Allison is a Tomatometer-approved critic (Rotten Tomatoes).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *